black-eyed peas

20140102-082251.jpg

this girls favorite pea I think. I see it on the menu or hear it’s cooking at someone’s home and my stomach gets excited.

One pot has the ability to feed a crowd or create meals for another day. Super budget friendly!

Black-eyed Peas:

4 bags frozen black eyed peas
1 salt pork
Jalapeño peppers, for spicier peas
Water
Salt
Pepper

_________________________

In large stock pot, empty the bags of blackeyed peas.

Fill pot of peas with water until water is above the peas. For me, I fill the pot 3/4 full.

Drop in salt pork and turn stove on to medium high. Heat until boiling. Cover and simmer for 4 hours. Stir every once in a while just to mix well.

Halfway through I salt and pepper for taste and add the jalapeños. I just cut my jalapeños in half, but the preference is yours.

Serve with a slice of cornbread. Enjoy!

If leftovers happen, once peas cool, store in gallon ziplocs and freeze until ready for use. Then thaw, cook and enjoy again.

_________________________

Another way we will be enjoying these peas are over a bed of rice. Maybe white. Maybe yellow. But delicious and filling either way.

Leave a Reply

